On my hook

In my World of Crochet.

The Stained Glass Window Afghan!

 

It’s DONE!!!

Wow, do I love this ghan! I might have to make one for myself now!

This is the Stained Glass Window Afghan in the book 50 Sensational crochet afghans and throws.

I planned to make a couple more squares to frame for me and some family members, I just love looking at it. hehe But I might just end up making a whole ghan again for me. This one is going to my Hubby’s Godmother in Indiana this Memorial weekend so I’ll have to say goodbye to it.  *sigh*

I still want to make something to enter in the fair some day and I can’t decide if it will be one of these or the Cathedral rose window (CRW). I’ve at least started the 2nd CRW so I might just enter it this year If I can get it done in time 🙂 Then do a stained glass window for another year. We’ll see.

 

So as usuall I let a whole lot of time go by between posts in here. Granted I really haven’t had a lot to say since I was working on the CRW’s and the Stained glass and really haven’t worked on much else lately.

I did get one lapghan for the nursing home done

 

And just finished assembly of another lapghan for the nursing home that a friend of mine at the Ville made the squares for and sent me. 🙂 Thank you so much B.

 

Both have more info on them on the Nursing Home page on my blog.

I made a few gag gifts for Hubby’s Aunt Mary and they were big hits at her B-day party! I won’t show them all here so as not to offend anybody but this is the thong and pasties part of her GAG gift.

I couldn’t find a pattern for a thong so I just had to wing it so of course it doesn’t really fit but that wasn’t the point of the gag so it doesn’t matter.

 

 

May 13, 2008 - Posted by | Crochet

33 Comments »

  1. First…stained glass WOW! and I love the thong!!!! Felll off my couch laughing! That’s a gag gift I’ll have to borrow the idea sometime!

    Comment by Jen Mullins | May 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. WOW from me, also, on the stained glass afghan! Beautiful! So many very cool things you’ve done! Have a wonderful day!

    Comment by Deanna | June 26, 2008 | Reply

  3. Wow, wow, wow! That is the most gorgeous afghan I’ve ever seen!

    Comment by christina | June 28, 2008 | Reply

  4. The stained glass afghan is absolutely gorgeous! I have never seen anything like it before.

    Comment by Jana | July 11, 2008 | Reply

    • Hi I have tried to find the book and could not any chance you could email me the pattern?
      Thanks

      Comment by dawn | January 23, 2011 | Reply

  5. Is there any chance that you would be able to email me a pattern for the stained glass window as I live in australia. I am having great trouble finding anyone who has the pattern. Annie’s won’t sell overseas and very wary of Ebay offers.
    Thank you for answering in advance.
    Theresa

    Comment by Theresa | August 21, 2008 | Reply

  6. Is there any way you can Email me this pattern for the stained glass afghan?It is beautiful and I cant seem to find the pattern.I would gladly pay for it if you want.Please email me at cchesky15@aol.com Thanks and great job.

    Comment by cindy | August 27, 2008 | Reply

  7. I can’t e-mail the pattern out it’s from a copyrighted book 😦 It is available at Amazon maybe they ship to Australia? I added the link to it. I forgot to add it to this post in all my excitement at finishing it. 🙂

    Comment by Heather | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  8. I have never seen anything like the Stained Glass Window Afghan! Would you be able to email it to me as well? I’m also willing to pay for it. Thanks!

    Comment by Chris | September 1, 2008 | Reply

  9. Bought the book this weekend. Everything was going fine till round 8. I think there is a misprint in the book. Need help!! The afgehn is promised to a coworker who is reconvering from surgery. The square just does not look like th picture after round 8. Would be willing to pay long distance fees or anything to get this fixed. Tried to call teh publisher to see if this book had been re-written or if there were corrections available. Bought the book just for this pattern. What a disappointment.
    Your version is gorgeous.

    Comment by Diane | January 12, 2009 | Reply

  10. I absolutely love this pattern. Are emailing this at all? I would gladly pay you for it. This afghan is so beautiful.

    Comment by peg miller | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  11. I’ve also been working on this afghan and nearly tossed the thing when I started working the border around the squares. Finally, I had someone else read the directions to me while I did the crocheting and found that there is an error in the pattern. Once I finally figured this out it is a wonderful pattern. I’ve emailed the publisher to see if they have the corrections for the pattern.

    Comment by Brenda | January 18, 2009 | Reply

  12. Hello Brenda:
    Thank you for the comment. There is a misprint for round 13 as well. On working the corner motifs, I took out my trusty calculator and noted that it should be 20 stitches between each motif and not 19. The pattern for the border had mistprints as well. I had to rework it. Finished the first square last night. I must say it is a work of art. I did contact the publishers at DRGbooks.com and someone there was most helpful with this pattern. Would encourage anyone to contact them. What I find incredible is that this book has been printed at least 4 times and no corrections for this pattern have been made to date. The only correction for this pattern is in the assembly of the squares which should read 3 rows of 4 squares or 4 rows of 3 sqaures depending on your prespective. One last note, have noted that the two bottom outside edges of the corner motifs pock through the space created by the pattern. Will retool that a bit to get it to stay behind the black edging. Would love to talk to anyone about this pattern.

    Comment by Diane | January 19, 2009 | Reply

    • Is there a corrected pattern avaliable? I e-mailed the publisher a week ago requesting corrections but no reply yet.

      Comment by martha | March 5, 2010 | Reply

      • I don’t know if there is anything in it that needed correcting. I can’t remember at the moment. 🙂

        Comment by Heather | March 5, 2010

      • Go to annies attic.they have an errata with the corrections.
        Diana

        Comment by Diana | September 11, 2013

    • I am having trouble too. Have gotten to round 7 and am lost. Any help would be appreciated.

      Comment by Amy | April 23, 2010 | Reply

      • Let me see if I can help. I had to dig out my book. What is getting you stuck?

        Comment by Heather | April 23, 2010

  13. Hello! Your stained-glass window afghan is beautiful. I also bought the book just for this pattern, but was pleasantly surprised to find that it is FULL of beautiful patterns. For anyone else reading this, the book is well worth the buy!

    I am having trouble with round 8. Can you help? Are there any corrections for round 8? When it says to “join G with sl st in any cl” and later, “sc in next cl”, I don’t understand where to put the stitch in the cl. Does it mean in the back loop?

    I’m fairly new to crocheting, so I would be very grateful for any help or advice you could give me for this pattern. Thank you so much!

    Comment by Erin | February 12, 2009 | Reply

  14. Hello Erin:
    Contact me at 315-353-2080 and I will talk you through it or leave me your phone number.
    Diane

    Comment by Diane | February 13, 2009 | Reply

  15. Thanks Erin. I agree there are many beautiful patterns in here this is one book I will treasure.

    I’m real bad at explaining things but I’ll try. 🙂 I didn’t look for any corrections so don’t know if there are any. The cl is the cluster done in black on round 7 and then you join in any of them then ch1 then sc in the same cluster as joining.

    I hope that helps.

    Comment by Heather | February 13, 2009 | Reply

  16. ok so how can i get this pattern? i have looked and found the whole book for $20.00 husband out of work cant afford it,
    i understand that it is layered to achieve the effect , hope to hear from you
    thanks
    sharon

    Comment by sharon Sweat | February 26, 2009 | Reply

    • You can buy the download at Annie’s Attic for $5.99 with all the corrections fixed. Also there is a place to check for any corrections.
      Diana

      Comment by Diana | September 11, 2013 | Reply

      • I couldn’t find a place for the corrections at Annie”s attic and don’t feel I should have to pay anymore money to get the pattern corrections

        Comment by Laurie | September 13, 2013

  17. Love the stained glass ghan… I have the book and I’m new to the art of crocheting. I want to be able to work up to that pattern in the future. You did a beautiful job. I hope that you’ve had some time to make one for yourself to enjoy!

    Comment by Lori | January 14, 2010 | Reply

  18. Hello! I want to express my sincere joy at seeing the beautiful work that you have made. I would very much like to try the beautiful stained glass blanket. i was wondering if it wouldn’t be an imposition, if you could send me the pattern for this and the catherdral rose window. Many thanks and i wish you many years of happy crotcheting. I will look forward to seeing your future work!!
    Best Wishes,
    Rose Anne

    Comment by rose anne | February 21, 2010 | Reply

  19. Your work is beautiful. I am to round 7 and lost, any suggestions where I can get help?

    Comment by Amy | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  20. Hello there I am having the same problem with the stained glass afghan pattern from the book I purchased I am lost at round 7 as well and could use some instruction on correcting the pattern that is in my book.
    I purchased the book for this pattern 2 years ago and have ruined wool pulling it out over and over again and have decided it is a pattern error not the fact that I am dense lol.
    I wrote the company with no response to my e-mail and would appreciate any help I can get in correcting the errors in the pattern before I attempt it again.
    Many thanks,
    Laurie

    Comment by Laurie Barton | January 11, 2011 | Reply

    • Go to annies attic they have the corrections for this afghan. Also they have the pattern to download for $5.99 in a PDF with no mistakes.

      Comment by Diana | September 11, 2013 | Reply

      • Hi there thanks for replying to my post.
        I went to Annie’s Attic and was unable to find the corrections there, where would I find the errata?
        I did not want to spend again more money to get corrections.

        Comment by Laurie | September 14, 2013

  21. The Stained Glass Window is flat gorgeous. Thanks for the inspiration! I’ve linked your post over in my blog…

    I noticed you hadn’t updated your blog in quite a while. Hope you’re well and still making beautiful things.

    Comment by avantaknits | February 9, 2011 | Reply

  22. […] Are you noticing a theme here? (BTW, the person who made the blanket shown above blogged about it here. Go tell her how gorgeous it is.) Again, I had to search out the book which contained this pattern. […]

    Pingback by Blankets blankets blankets « Avanta Knits | February 9, 2011 | Reply

  23. Goodday, Your stained-glass window afghan is awesome. I also bought the book just for this pattern, but love all the other beautifull patterns as well.
    I am having trouble with round 5. Can you help? I don’t understand that one very well. I have used brown for (A) in stead off black…but when I am doing the sc the brown is then just another row and according to the photo..after the colour (C) I don’t see the (A) as another full row of sc. Please hetlp me via my e-mail. I am in South Africa.

    Comment by Alett van Zyl | March 6, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

